• Guest - Earn a FREE TubeBuddy Upgrade for being active on the forums! Click Here to learn how you earn free upgrades for TubeBuddy!
  • Guest - TubeBuddy has a discord! Click Here to join in the conversation!

YouTube Question Youtube copyright claims

jameslimusic

How would you guys avoid the copyright claim for youtube music covers? I've heard that we are the hits is good?

MusicLife

Subscriber Goal
If you want music with No Copyright then use music from my channel. Is free and with no copyright if you respect what is writen on video description xD

Last edited by a moderator:
OP
OP
jameslimusic

jameslimusic

Hi I can't do that because that wasn't the question I make covers and have to choose specific music and was wondering if we are the hits is good because they make deals with the artists to split the ad revenue

Thanks for the help though anyway! :)

Bigjesticles35

TubeBuddy User
Subscriber Goal
I wonder this too. I am also a musician who does covers and I get a copyright claim for most videos. However I am not monetized as yet so if you get an answer to this question I would also like to know!

SILTHW

Professional cat wrangler
Subscriber Goal
This was a good explanation from another thread:

Reactions: Bigjesticles35

BraveStar

Life ain't no Nintendo Game
TubeBuddy User
Subscriber Goal
There is no one specific answer to this question. In the end, it all really depends on the songs, the artist and the platform's rules. One of the things I've read is that in order to do cover songs you need what is called a mechanical license. Explaining this is too complicated for me so I suggest you look into this license if you're interested in this. Then there is a sync license apparently that you may also need for your YouTube video if you're making a video to go along with the music.