• Guest - Earn a FREE TubeBuddy Upgrade for being active on the forums! Click Here to learn how you earn free upgrades for TubeBuddy!
  • Guest - TubeBuddy has a discord! Click Here to join in the conversation!

Video Research What's the best type of videos to increase watch time and viewer retention?

HeresJonnyy

Hi guys,

I'm new to this whole YouTube thing and I am looking for a way to better my content, so what better place than the TubeBuddy forums?

I want to know, in your opinion or from your past experiences, what type of videos have you noticed have kept the viewer entertained? What sort of content is it or what have you done to increase it overtime?

I would love to hear from as many of you as possible! Good luck with your channels and have a great day!

Reactions: Key2DL

Steve the Barman

Known Member
TubeBuddy Star
stevethebarman.com
Subscriber Goal
The only real answer is the type of content YOU WANT to do...and the Type of content YOU CAN get passionate about. Doesn't matter what that is. But no one is going to watch something they can't buy into.

For example, I'm a Cocktail Bartender. I can talk and educate all day long about Booze. But perhaps the higher views come in Tech niches. Now i can also talk all day long about Adwords and Websites and Analytics. BUT, it doesn't really interest me and that will show on screen. I just won't the views.

If you're a Gamer, do that. If you're a comedian, do that. If you're like my pal in the US who will spend all flippin week making Lego Videos, drop them and get 200,000 views in a few days...DO THAT. YouTube is all about your interests, your skill sets. In the UK, we have the Sidemen which is just a weird phenomen that has taken off. But it works for them. Find what works for you!

BraveStar

Life ain't no Nintendo Game
TubeBuddy User
Subscriber Goal
Hello @HeresJonnyy,