• Guest - Earn a FREE TubeBuddy Upgrade for being active on the forums! Click Here to learn how you earn free upgrades for TubeBuddy!
  • Guest - TubeBuddy has a discord! Click Here to join in the conversation!

Need Advice Accounts and channels

Jim L

I'm new to the YouTube channel game. If people set up multiple channels, do they set them under the one username account (if this is possible) or on separate username accounts? Are there pros and cons? And for the purposes of monetising later down the track, are the required counts to get into the program just related to the individual channel or can they be the combined views of all the channels under the one account?

Reactions: DevilByTheTale

DevilByTheTale

TubeBuddy Legend
Subscriber Goal
I'm new to the YouTube channel game. If people set up multiple channels, do they set them under the one username account (if this is possible) or on separate username accounts? Are there pros and cons? And for the purposes of monetising later down the track, are the required counts to get into the program just related to the individual channel or can they be the combined views of all the channels under the one account?
You can do them separate, but it may better to have them under your main account. I believe the limit is 4, but I could be wrong. I had messed up my main channel long ago by posting different types of videos under the same account, so if you are doing something different, definitely do another channel.

For general intents and purposes, those channels you create under one will be treated separately . No one will know they are from the same person unless you make it known. There are, however, benefits to making them under your main account. Monetization requirements are also separate, but the financial information from Google is carried over. The biggest benefit to me is being able to quickly switch between channels.