• Guest - Earn a FREE TubeBuddy Upgrade for being active on the forums! Click Here to learn how you earn free upgrades for TubeBuddy!
  • Guest - TubeBuddy has a discord! Click Here to join in the conversation!

YouTube Tips My Content Schedule

Stanley | Team TB

Amazingly Decent and Not-At-All Terrible Fishing
Administrator
TubeBuddy Staff
Subscriber Goal
I used to be a manager for a pair of companies over the course of the past decade, and one of the most-managerial things that you can do is employee schedules. It sucks. I was allotted 190 hours to run a store that was open 24-7… that breaks down to roughly 5-6 ‘full-time’ employees. Your overnight shift covers 40 hours of graveyard shifts, which leaves two days per week that someone else must work over night. If that person works 40 hours per week then they must in turn work two days that are not over night… which means you can’t work them the day after a graveyard shift (which is inherently their day off and well… that just kinda sucks for them). If you want something done around the store like cleaning or re-stocking that is near impossible for someone working alone, so you need times during the week where two people are both present and working. But 190 hours only gives you 32 hours of double coverage (there are 168 hours in a week). So you have to make the most of it. As a manager if you want weekends off you basically have to schedule 16 hours of that 32 on the weekends so that you can be off, which leaves only 16 hours during the week to cover things like stocking, cleaning, organizing, putting up new posters and advertisements, repricing products… and this in no way accounts for that guy who called in or quit yesterday.

That is a lot of math that is involved in simply making sure that there is someone present to work. Remember that time you were sitting in Algebra II and someone asked ‘when are we ever going to use this in real life?’ Well guess what… now is that time.