• Guest - Earn a FREE TubeBuddy Upgrade for being active on the forums! Click Here to learn how you earn free upgrades for TubeBuddy!
  • Guest - TubeBuddy has a discord! Click Here to join in the conversation!

Need Advice Do I need to start a new channel because I have changed direction?

DannyC

Hi everyone,

I started a channel about a year ago. I have been uploading regularly (once every two weeks) for the last 8 months. I get very low views. - maybe 100 a month of less!

My channel started of as a general English channel - videos for people who are learning English. I had a good start because I did a collaboration with another channel and I got around 400 subscribers instantly.

About four months ago I decided to change direction on my channel and niche down - I now do business English - videos for people who use English for their work.

My video quality has improved a lot but I don't seem to be getting anywhere. I'm maybe getting 100 views over the course of a few months.

I feel that each time I create a new video, the small number of impressions I get are largely seen by my subscribers I got right at the beggining from the collaboration who have no interest in business English. I feel that I have alienated my existing subscribers by changing direction and because they are not viewing my new content then YT algorithm feels that this is an issue with my content.

Do I need to start a new channel or should I press on with this one?

Thanks!
Dan

SILTHW

Professional cat wrangler
Subscriber Goal
Short answer - No. You may need to do a lot of re-arranging and create new playlists. You may need to hide old content, but you certainly have enough similarities that you don't need to restart.

You haven't properly linked you channel to your forum profile so I can't look at your channel, but the above holds as general advice.

Reactions: Damon

Damon

Trusted User
Trusted User
www.blackwarriorlures.com
Subscriber Goal