• Guest - Earn a FREE TubeBuddy Upgrade for being active on the forums! Click Here to learn how you earn free upgrades for TubeBuddy!
  • Guest - TubeBuddy has a discord! Click Here to join in the conversation!

YouTube Question Best Piece of Advice for a Newbie

Shawny

TubeBuddy Pro
Hi everybody,

I'm still relatively new to the Youtube game (I started my channel about 5 months ago). What's the biggest and best piece of advice you would give to someone starting out?

Though I've been having a blast and am I highly motivated, everyone has there down days and moments of doubt...

Reactions: LaziboiGamer

Beanie Draws

Mythical Poster
www.youtube.com
Subscriber Goal
Make sure what you're doing, you're happy to do for the next 5-10 years regardless of the views and subs. Will make the whole overall experience far more enjoyable.

And learn how to make good thumbnails. I mean, topic is important, but even the best topic can't be saved with a messy thumbnail, so study good thumbnail design tactics.

OP
OP
Shawny

Shawny

TubeBuddy Pro
Thanks for the great advice :) Potentially dumb question, but what does CTR and AVP stand for?

BraveStar

Life ain't no Nintendo Game
TubeBuddy User
Subscriber Goal
There are 2 kinds of YouTubers:

Those who enjoy making videos and growth comes naturally.

and

Those who just want to make money and expect to start making a living off of YouTube after just a few videos.

Now, there's nothing wrong with wanting to make money off of making videos. But if you don't have a passion for actually making the videos and entertaining or educating an audience then the experience will be terrible because the goal will likely take longer than you expect and the amount of work that goes into maintaining a Youtube channel can be exhausting and frustrating if you're not enjoying the process of making the content, to begin with.

So basically like @Beanie Draws and @Stanley Orchard said: