YouTube News When YouTube Monetization is Enabled, Does the Minimum Quota Get Shared Amongst All Your Channels?

Physx

New User
Ok, so I am very new to the whole YouTube monetization thing, but want to make sure I do it right.

With that said, I have two different YouTube channels under my same e-mail address. It is for two completely separate topics, so I wanted them both in different channels. I know there is some type of minimum views or clicks or something along those lines that you need within a period of time for YouTube to pay you. Now, is that quota for the account, or is it for each individual channel? Like say if I have 70% of the quota on one channel, and 60% on the other channel, since they are under the same account, would that meet the quota, or does the quota have to be met on each channel?

OP
OP
P

Physx

New User
What?! You have to have at least 1,000 subscribers just to have any chance at making money? And the first 12 months you can't make anything at all? Really? That seems harsh.

Craig Payne

New User
Yep; did you not read this:

Also unless you have a lot more than 1000 subs, you are not really going to make any more than a few $'s a month.

OP
OP
P

Physx

New User
Thanks for the information. I literally just started all this and it is brand new to me, so the only thing I have done so far is monetized my page, made two different channels, and split up the videos I have so far.

It's late here, but I did add that link you gave me to my favorites to check out tomorrow. I am still learning how all of this works, but quickly realizing the way to make real money with a YouTube channel is to not rely on the income from YouTube, but to do things outside of that, like affiliate marketing.

Anyway, I appreciate the feedback, and realizing I do have a lot to learn here, but to definitely not rely on YouTube itself to make money.

Beanie Draws